Thursday, July 24th, 2014 at 7:30 PM

Circuit Bridges is a monthly electroacoustic concert series, held at Gallery MC in New York City. The July 24th concert, titled “Reinforcing Bridges”, is the final concert of the first season. It reflects the concept of the first concert from the season, which built a bridge from New York City composers to composers from around the world. This return home features music from the inaugural call for works, which received over 190 submissions. The music selected for this concert represents a variety of styles and ideas employed by living electronic music composers.

Founded in 2014 by Robert Voisey and under the artistic direction of David Morneau and Melissa Grey, Circuit Bridges is dedicated to creating a community for creators of electroacoustic music and strives to explore all that is included, and currently being innovated, under the electroacoustic umbrella, such as sonic art, radio art, glitch, circuit bending, electronica, real-time improvisation, network performance, audiovisual composition, mash-up, and data sonification. It’s mission is to connect with similar organizations from around the globe that foster and promote innovative electroacoustic music and sound. Concerts feature local composers and sound artists and those from visiting communities and immerse audiences in the vast wealth of electroacoustic music being created today. Concerts are held on a Thursday once a month at Gallery MC in New York City.

This concert will present works from a unique set of composers: Joel Gressel, Antonio D’Amato, Ken Paoli, Robert Voisey, Angelo Bello, Joshua Marquez, Michael James Olson, Brian Schorn, Milica Paranosic, John Oliver, John Bock, Taylor Brook, and Taylan Cihan, which reflect the curators’ aesthetic and experiences.

These composers’ works have been performed around the world at such prestigious venues as the SEAMUS National Conference, Noisefloor Festival, ICMC Conference, World Financial Center Winter Garden Atrium, Stratford Circus, and Carnegie Hall by such ensembles as the JACK Quartet, Akropolis Reed Quintet, Quintet Sirocco, Argento Chamber Ensemble, Momenta Quartet, and Ensemble Adapter.

The concert will feature performances by Margaret Lancaster, Taylan Cihan, Milica Paranosic, and Robert Voisey and video by Carmen Kordas. Their work has been heard around the world at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center Festival, Spoleto Festival USA, Ibsen Festival, Santa Fe New Music, Edinburgh Festival, Tap City, New Music Miami, Festival D’Automne, Galapagos Art Space, The Stone, and Symphony Space.

For more information about the Circuit Bridges Series:

Thursday, July 24th at 8:00 pm (7:30 pm pre-concert listening)
Gallery MC
549 W 52nd St, New York, NY 10019
[Use the freight elevator entrance]
$10 admission

Robert Voisey

Executive Director Vox Novus

Vox Novus presents:
Composer’s Voice, 60×60, Fifteen-Minutes-of-Fame, NM421, Circuit Bridges, and Composers’ Site


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *